Diary Of A Sinner (Saved By Grace)

Let’s face it, Christians are far from having it all together. All of us sin daily, and all of us do so knowingly sometimes. Even worse so, some of us can still feel the sting of sin in the form of condemnation. A way out, or a way to divert our minds from sin is no easy task.  Left to our own devices we would rather revert back to works righteousness (it just seems easier for some odd reason).

At times I find myself at the bed of sin, playing with it, flirting with it, almost like moral foreplay. My mind will race from one impure thought to another, or from one deed to another. It never fulfills me, and always leaves me empty like a one night stand at a roach motel. All the while, remembering Jesus, and thinking about getting caught by God in the very act.

Lately, though, I’ve been thinking more and more about beating sin. Thinking about ways on how to combat against it. These are very high, impossible goals in my own strength, and by my own standards. The battle field is set, and in my own power I’m a soldier that rather betray his country than fight the enemy, but not so. Not so because I don’t fight in my own power, with my own weapons. This is what I have been think about.

2 Corinthians 10:4 “For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds.”
Prayer
Reading
Meditating on the work of Christ

None of what we do to fight sin is in our own power. Ephesians 6:10 tells us to be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might.
Meditate on God’s ultimate goodness
Research the attributes of God
Read God’s Word with the intention of being awestruck .

Hope this encourages you. Grace and Peace

Enhanced by Zemanta

About mypentecostalreformation

Disciple of Jesus. Hobbiless big guy with a wife & Kid. Writing to encourage and maybe enlight the masses (all 5 of you)
This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

